Subscribe to our newsletter

Published On: Thu, Nov 8th, 2012

President Obama Wins Second Term

Nov. 8 | By: Jared King
Democrats Keep Senate, GOP Controls House

WASHINGTON—President Obama won reelection after surpassing the 270 electoral votes need to win with a total of 303 electoral votes. Governor Mitt Romney secured 206 electoral votes. Twenty-nine electoral votes are pending in Florida. The Democrats gained one seat in the Senate and its leadership is expected to remain the same. In the House of Representatives the Republicans will retain control with 232 seats to the Democrats 192 seats. Ten House seats remain undecided.

Republican Jeff Flake was elected to the U.S. Senate from Arizona. Flake defeated Dr. Richard Carmona and will replace current Republican Senator Jon Kyl who is retiring at the end of this session. Democrat Ann Kirkpatrick defeated Republican candidate Jonathan Paton and will represent Arizona’s congressional district 1, which includes a large portion of the western part of the Navajo Nation.

Congressman Martin Heinrich was elected to the U.S. Senate from New Mexico. He defeated former Congresswoman Heather Wilson and replaces current Democrat Senator Jeff Bingaman who is retiring at the end of this session. In New Mexico’s congressional district 3, Democrat incumbent Ben Ray Lujan defeated Republican challenger Jefferson Byrd. Congressional district 3 includes the northwest portion of the Navajo Nation. Michelle Lujan Grisham was elected to represent New Mexico’s congressional district 1 by defeating Republican Janice Arnold-Jones. Republican Congressman Steve Pearce won reelection in New Mexico’s congressional district 2.

Senior Senator Orin Hatch from Utah won reelection after defeating four challengers. Republican Congressman Jason Chaffetz was elected to represent Utah’s congressional district 3, which includes a portion of the Navajo Nation.

Lawmakers are expected to return to Capitol Hill on Tuesday, November 13. They will attempt to reach a deal on the looming “fiscal cliff” and to take up a variety of legislative matters in the coming weeks prior to the Presidential Inauguration January 21, 2013.

President Obama Wins Second Term